Merlyn
0 0
0 2
Merlyn
   "Too lazy to write a signature . . ."
Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 9:05 am
I installed the game as admin (it wouldn't let me install as non-admin, which is fine, since most programs won't let you, anyhow), but when I run the game as non-admin, it crashes. I haven't started the game to create a profile yet.

I've repro'd this on three machines, two with a strange non-admin setup (using "RunAsAdmin" program) and one with two user accounts, logging off and back on to switch between them.

Let me know what sort of info you'd like me to forward, logs, etc. If it need be technical, I'm a software dev, so fire away =)

CheesyRamen
19 108
5 277
CheesyRamen
   "Eets Puzzle Bamboozler"
Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 3:30 pm
Hi Merlyn!

Thanks for pointing this out to us. As it is right now, you cannot run Eets solely under a non-admin account Scared Marsh Bud

However, I've managed to get Eets to run on a non-admin user account, by using the 'Run As' command on eets.exe while logged in as a non-admin, then running the game with the administrator account.

(I really suck at explaining sometimes, check out here to see what I mean.)

I'm not too sure if that was the same thing you did (probably so, since you're a software dev Razz), but we'll look into this to see if we can figure something out. Feel free to ask questions if you have any.

Merlyn
0 0
0 2
Merlyn
   "Too lazy to write a signature . . ."
Posted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 12:48 pm
There's a couple ways you can run as admin to work around the problem, and the way you mentioned worked for me, too, and solves the problem. The "RunAsAdmin" programs is a third party tool, but it basically does the same thing as "Run As...".

This problem seems to happen for sure on XP pro, but I just found out my girlfriend's computer w/ XP home doesn't SEEM to have the problem. She just had to run as admin long enough to install the game.